How to Factory Reset your iPhone

How to Factory Reset your iPhone

Sometimes your device reaches a point where it really needs a clean slate. Be aware that this will wipe out every single setting and data you have, so only resort to this solution after you’ve backed up somewhere.

A factory reset might be a good way to restore your iPhone to its original settings and performances, plus, it only takes ten minutes.

There are two ways to get this done.

1 – Factory Reset through iTunes

This will work with any iPhone.

  • Launch iTunes as you normally would on your Mac or PC.
  • Select “Check for Updates” and ensure you have the latest version.
  • Connect your iPhone via USB.
  • Click the Back Up Now button in the summary tab.
  • If you’re using an iPhone 4S or newer device you need to disable “Find my Phone” by tapping the main Settings icon, selecting iCloud, then Tap my Phone, where you can toggle the slider to disable the feature.
  • After the Back Up is complete, click the gray “Restore iPhone” button in the summary tab. Click “Restore” in the resulting pop-up, then click Agree to accept the software license agreement, so you can begin downloading the necessary iOS software file.

This process will take a few minutes. Check to ensure the phone has actually been restored to original factory settings. If that’s the case, you will be presented with the iOS Setup Assistant. At this point you can choose whether you want to set it up anew or from your backup.

 2 – Factory Reset through iCloud

 If you have an iPhone 4 or newer – all the way to X – you could simply factory reset using iCloud.

  • Go into your iPhone Settings menu: Settings > [Your Name] > iCloud. If it’s an older version of iOS: Settings > iCloud.
  • Turn the items you want to back up (everything else will be deleted and lost forever).
  • Scroll down to the Backup button. Click it and rutn on iCloud Backup with the toggle switch. If you’re connected to Wi-Fi you will be able to Back up Now. Now you’re ready to reset your phone.
  • From the home screen, tap Settings and select General. Then tap Reset.
  • Tap the blue “Erase All Content and Settings”. Then “Erase iPhone” from the pop-up window. The process will start and take several minutes.
  • If everything went well, you will be presented with the iOS Setup Assistant upon startup. Choose whether you wish to restore your phone from a backup or set it up anew.
  • You will be asked to login and set up your phone. If you wish, you will be given the chance to use your iCloud account, or iTunes on a Mac or PC, or just set it up clean.

There are also milder options presented to you when resetting your iPhone. If you do not wish to “Erase All Content and Settings” you can simply “Reset All Settings”, which will maintain your data but restore original settings.